ABOUT US

Open Door Ministries alleviates the pain of homelessness and hunger by offering our neighbors hope and healing.

img
“To serve, empower, and minister to clients in order to prevent and end hunger and homelessness through advocacy, education, housing, and coordination of services.”

Open Door Ministries is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping people regain their lives through supportive services and emergency assistance. Our programs and services are solution-oriented and ministry minded, including the operation of a homeless shelter, serving daily meals, distributing non-perishable and fresh food, obtaining permanent housing, and acquiring and maintaining permanent jobs.

  • Open Door Ministries was established in 1995 as a merger of Urban Ministries and the Open Door Shelter.
  • Urban Ministries began in 1969 and provided food, clothing, and assisted with financial needs.
  • The Open Door Shelter began in 1987 and provided a homeless shelter for men, women, and children.

OUR TEAM

img
Steve Key

Executive Director

(336) 885-0191

skey@odm-hp.org

img
Leigh Wagner

Marketing & Development

(336) 885-0191

lwagner@odm-hp.org

img
Will Bohaboy

Director
Men’s Shelter and Education and Job Readiness Training

(336) 885-0191

wbohaboy@odm-hp.org

img
Vivian Waden

Receptionist

(336) 885-0191

vwaden@odm-hp.org

img
Tonya Clinard

Case Manager
Rapid ReHousing

(336) 885-0191

tclinard@odm-hp.org

img
Elisabeth Fischer-Waters

Clinical Director
Arthur Cassell Transitional Housing

(336) 885-2166

bwaters@odm-hp.org

img
Verlenda Martinez

Case Manager
Permanent Supportive Housing

(336) 885-0191

vmartinez@odm-hp.org

img
Portia Adams

Administrative Assistant

(336) 885-0191

padams@odm-hp.org

img
Stephanie White

Coordinator
Food Pantry

(336) 885-0191

swhite@odm-hp.org

img
Don Bellemore

Director of Operations

(336) 885-0191

dbellemore@odm-hp.org

img
Kathy Edwards

Administrative Assistant
Volunteer Coordinator

(336) 885-0191

kedwards@odm-hp.org

2018 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

  • Lin Amos
  • Malissa Dance
  • Jeron Hollis
  • Don Shaw
  • Joe Blankinship
  • Susan Davis
  • Hillary Kojkako
  • James Simon
  • Holly Bovio
  • Wanda Dellinger
  • Elizabeth Maricich
  • David Thompson
  • Pat Bowling
  • Brian Evans
  • Tammy Nagem
  • Fred Trumpower
  • Nancy Bowman
  • Sandra Funk, Chair
  • Mark Nelson
  • Daniel Webb
  • Paul Coates
  • Brooke Garrou
  • Luis Rivera
  • George White
  • Donna Cumby

2018 ADVISORY BOARD

  • Sallie Corrigan Amos
  • Louise Foster
  • Tommy Langley
  • Matt Nowell
  • Andy Bills
  • Groome Fulton
  • Elizabeth Maricich
  • Susan Samuel
  • Joe Blosser
  • Sandra Funk
  • David Miller
  • James Simon
  • Ray Bretzmann
  • Jeff Horney
  • Vicki Miller
  • Mike Smith
  • Barbara Coughlin, Chair
  • Nancy Laney
  • Mark Norcross
  • David Thompson
  • Frosty Culp