Our Mission

Open Door Ministries alleviates the pain of homelessness and hunger by offering our neighbors hope and healing.

img
“To serve, empower, and minister to clients in order to prevent and end hunger and homelessness through advocacy, education, housing, and coordination of services.”

Open Door Ministries is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping people regain their lives through supportive services and emergency assistance. Our programs and services are solution-oriented and ministry minded, including the operation of a homeless shelter, serving daily meals, distributing non-perishable and fresh food, obtaining permanent housing, and acquiring and maintaining permanent jobs.

  • Open Door Ministries was established in 1995 as a merger of Urban Ministries and the Open Door Shelter.
  • Urban Ministries began in 1969 and provided food, clothing, and assisted with financial needs.
  • The Open Door Shelter began in 1987 and provided a homeless shelter for men, women, and children.

OUR TEAM

img
Ryan Ross

Executive Director

(336) 885-0191

rross.odm@gmail.com

img
Will Bohaboy

Director
Men’s Shelter and Education and Job Readiness Training

(336) 885-0191

wbohaboy@odm-hp.org

img
Vivian Waden

Receptionist

(336) 885-0191

vwaden@odm-hp.org

img
Tonya Clinard

Case Manager
Permanent Supportive Housing

(336) 885-0191

tclinard@odm-hp.org

img
Elisabeth Fischer-Waters

Clinical Director
Arthur Cassell Transitional Housing

(336) 885-2166

bwaters@odm-hp.org

img
Portia Adams

Coordinator Emergency Assistance

(336) 885-0191

padams@odm-hp.org

img
Stephanie White

Coordinator
Food Pantry

(336) 885-0191

swhite2@odm-hp.org

img
Kathy Edwards

Volunteer Coordinator

(336) 885-0191

kedwards@odm-hp.org

img
Maribel Garcia

Administrative Assistant

(336) 885-0191

maribel@odm-hp.org

img
Cherie Lenair

Case Manager
Rapid ReHousing

336-885-0191

clenair@odm-hp.org

img
Tierra Gaines

Case Manager
Arthur Cassell Transitional Housing

336-885-0191

tgaines@odm-hp.org

img
Mike Whitaker

Kitchen Operations Manager

336-885-0191

mwhitaker@odm-hp.org

2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

  • Lin Amos
  • Donna Cumby
  • Daniel Hall
  • James Simon
  • Joe Blankinship
  • Susan Davis
  • Cyril Jefferson
  • David Thompson
  • Holly Bovio
  • Wanda Dellinger
  • Hillary Kojkako
  • Terry Venable
  • Pat Bowling
  • Brian Evans
  • Mark Nelson
  • Daniel Webb
  • Nancy Bowman
  • Lore Fariss
  • Luis Rivera
  • George White
  • Paul Coates
  • Sandra Funk
  • Don Shaw, Chair
  • Jody Susong

ADVISORY BOARD

2020 ADVISORY BOARD

  • Sallie Corrigan Amos
  • Frosty Culp
  • Nancy Laney
  • Matt Nowell
  • Andy Bills
  • Louise Foster
  • Tommy Langley
  • Susan Samuel
  • Joe Blosser
  • Jim White
  • David Miller
  • Mike Smith
  • Ray Bretzmann
  • Sandra Funk
  • Vicki Miller
  • David Thompson
  • Barbara Coughlin, Chair
  • Jeff Horney
  • Mark Norcross
  • Mary Bogest