About Us

Our mission is "to serve, empower, and minister to clients in order to prevent and end hunger and homelessness through advocacy, education, housing, and coordination of services.” Our vision is "to alleviate the pain of homelessness and hunger by offering our neighbors hope and healing."

img

Open Door Ministries is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping people regain their lives through supportive services and emergency assistance. Our programs and services are solution-oriented and ministry minded, including the operation of a homeless shelter, serving daily meals, distributing non-perishable and fresh food, obtaining permanent housing, and acquiring and maintaining permanent jobs.

  • Open Door Ministries was established in 1995 as a merger of Urban Ministries and the Open Door Shelter.
  • Urban Ministries began in 1969 and provided food, clothing, and assisted with financial needs.
  • The Open Door Shelter began in 1987 and provided a homeless shelter for men, women, and children.

OUR TEAM

img
Ryan Ross

Executive Director

(336) 885-0191

rross.odm@gmail.com

img
Scott Peterson

Operational Support Manager & Intern Coordinator

(336) 885-0191

speterson@odm-hp.org

img
Kelsey Price

Development, Marketing, & Volunteer Coordinator

(336) 885-0191

kprice@odm-hp.org

img
Maxine McKnight

Finance Manager

(336) 885-0191

mmcknight@odm-hp.org

img
Maribel Garcia

Administrative Assistant

(336) 885-0191

maribel@odm-hp.org

img
Vivian Waden

Receptionist

(336) 885-0191

vwaden@odm-hp.org

img
Will Bohaboy

Men's Shelter Director

(336) 885-0191

wbohaboy@odm-hp.org

img
Katherine Kelly

Men's Shelter Case Manager

(336)-885-0191

kkelly@odm-hp.org

img
Kevin Mills

Emergency Financial Assistance Director

(336) 885-0191

kmills@odm-hp.org

img
Stephanie White

Emergency Food Assistance Coordinator

(336) 885-0191

swhite2@odm-hp.org

img
Tonya Clinard

Housing Program Manager

(336) 885-0191

tclinard@odm-hp.org

img
Kendra Brooks

Rapid ReHousing Case Manger

(336)-885-0191

kbrooks@odm-hp.org

img
Elisabeth Fischer-Waters

Arthur Cassell Clinical Director

(336) 885-2166

bwaters@odm-hp.org

img
Kali Forsythe

Arthur Cassell Clinical Case Manager

(336) 885-2166

kforsythe@odm-hp.org

img
Mike Whitaker

Kitchen Operations Manager

(336)-885-0191

mwhitaker@odm-hp.org

img
Jill Parrish

Kitchen Support Assistant

(336) 885-0191

jparrish@odm-hp.org

img
Wanita Young

Delivery Driver

(336) 885-0191

wyoung@odm-hp.org

2021 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

  • Lin Amos
  • Tom Eller
  • Daniel Hall
  • Mark Nelson, Chair
  • Joe Blankinship
  • Angeline Sumpter
  • Daniel Webb
  • Brian Evans
  • Pat Bowling
  • Hillary Kojkako
  • Wanda Dellinger
  • Nancy Bowman
  • Ivey Orr
  • Jody Susong
  • George White
  • Lore Fariss
  • Cyril Jefferson
  • Luis Rivera
  • David Thompson
  • Abby Williams
  • John Eaton
  • Sandra Funk
  • Avys Massey
  • Don Shaw
  • Terry Venable

ADVISORY BOARD

2021 ADVISORY BOARD

  • Andy Bills
  • Barbara Coughlin, Chair
  • Mike Smith
  • Joe Blankinship
  • Frosty Culp
  • David Miller
  • David Thompson
  • Joe Blosser
  • Louise Foster
  • Vicki Miller
  • Jim White
  • Mary Bogest
  • Jeff Horney
  • Mark Norcross
  • Ray Bretzmann
  • Nancy Laney
  • Matt Nowell